Top 10 quotes from The Color of Money

The Color of Money is one of my all-time favorites, the kind of movie that I have to watch to conclusion every time I flip by it on TV (and then I wonder, why am I watching commercials? I have this on DVD). It’s interesting, it’s funny, it’s got Paul Newman, and it’s entertaining as hell. It’s the best movie that Tom Cruise was ever in and it’s the only Scorsese film I can sit through without getting bored to tears. It’s about bravado, guile, dedication, humility, and redemption. And it’s about as quotable as any non-comedy movie there is. Herewith are my 10 favorite lines…

10. “We gotta racehorse here, a thoroughbred… you make him feel good, I teach him how to run.” (Eddie to Carmen about Vincent) This line sets the premise for the entire movie.

9. “Stings like a bitch, don’t it? … You want my game? You couldn’t deal with my game.” (Vincent to Eddie) The student setting his teacher straight.

8. “His hair was perfect.” (Vincent singing along to “Werewolves of London”) My favorite scene of the movie, illustrating just about everything the movie is about.

7. “You win one more game, you’re gonna be humping your fist for a long time. Got that, Vincent?” (Carmen to Vincent) When all else fails, appeal to his more primal instincts.

6. “Pool excellence is not about excellent pool.” (Eddie to Vincent) Trying to give him the big picture.

5. “In here? Doom.” (Vince answering Moselle’s question about what’s in the box) The opening of the scene referenced in #8…so good, so stupid.

4. “It’s like a nightmare, isn’t it? It just keeps getting worse and worse.” (Grady to Vincent) It’s tough listening to someone’s trashtalking when you’re taking a dive.

3. “You gotta have two things to win. You gotta have brains and you gotta have balls. Now, you got too much of one and not enough of the other.” (Eddie to Vincent) Vincent in a nutshell.

2. “Money won is twice as sweet as money earned.” (Eddie to Vincent) Enough said.

1. “You walk into a shoe store with a hundred and fifty bucks, you come out with one shoe!” (Eddie to Vincent) The funniest line of the movie and the perfect killjoy to Vincent’s ebullient shortsightedness. I love when I can work this one into a real conversation.

I’ve since posted more great lines.

10. Eddie: You know what we’ve got here? We’ve got a thoroughbred… you make him feel good, I teach him to run.
9. Vince: Stings like a bitch, don’t it? … You want my game? You couldn’t deal with my game.
8. Vince: his hair was perfect.
7. Eddie: Pool excellence is not about excellent pool.
6. Carmen: You win one more game, you’re gonna be humping your fist for a long time. Got that, Vincent?
5. What you got in there? Vince: In here? Doom.
4. Grady: It’s like a nightmare, isn’t it? It just keeps getting worse and worse.
3. Eddie: You gotta have two things to win. You gotta have brains and you gotta have balls. Now, you got too much of one and not enough of the other.
2. Eddie: Money won is twice as sweet as money earned.
1. Eddie: You walk into a shoe store with a hundred and fifty bucks, you come out with one shoe!
2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, Movies, Top 10

2 responses to “Top 10 quotes from The Color of Money

  1. Crash! Landen

    This IS a great movie. It’s another one that I scratch my head at because of the so called critics’ reaction to it. I think that might have been because it was a knee jerk reaction to the fact that someone was daring to make a sequel to the classic ‘The Hustler’ (which also is a great film… just older and a little slower). That usually is a bad idea; to make a sequel to a much loved classic, but not here with a director like Scorsese directing. I don’t know if I liked it quite as much as you (as Tom Cruise movies go there might be 2 or 3 that I put above this one), but I did like it to a very strong degree.
    You are definitely right about how quotable it is, ESPECIALLY in pool halls. I used to shoot pool all the time in college and there was not one single time that I played that someone didn’t say “It’s like a nightmare, isn’t it? It just keeps getting worse….”
    My favorite detail of this film was that Cruise’s character worked at the toy store where they all had to wear the shirts with their names on them. This further added to the comedic arrogance of Vince in later scenes. A great movie, though; not just a movie about billiards.

    • san mateo pete

      Thanks for your comments, Crash (Landen?). I may have been a little hyperbolic about this being Tom Cruise’s best film, but not too much. 🙂

      And I love that VINCE t-shirt so much, I bought one for myself. In the 3 or 4 years I’ve had it, only a couple of people have ever gotten the reference. What a sad state of affairs…

Leave a Reply

